CONCLUSION: Vienna Regulator. Ca 1860.

The more I dug into this clock the more problems I discovered:

  • Ratchet (click) on winding barrel broken
  • Pallet retaining screw broken on verge
  • Winding barrel ratchet lever bent
  • Porcelain dial center retainer corroded beyond repair
  • Case required complete disassembly and rebuild.
  • Add correct weight and cable
  • It would be easier to list the only item not needing repair….The pendulum!!

    Upon inspecting the case, I found a number of Phillips head screws had been used in prior repairs, to hold the case together along with a couple of steel braces. Also, there was an excessive amount of glue. It looked as though this clock had taken a dive off a wall at some stage in its history. The hinges were also rigged.

    Repaired Movement

    I have never had to disassemble a clock case to this degree before. I broke down all the parts and completed the clean-up to remove all the old glue and refinish the joints correctly then reassembled. I only had to refinish a few areas where the old finish was beyond saving. The overall result was very pleasing and the case is now back to original.

    2 responses to “CONCLUSION: Vienna Regulator. Ca 1860.

    1. Wow, my wall clock is similar to this one and also in the condition you found this one. What’s the victorian head piece on these clocks?
      I’d be extremely happy if you could help me out with mine. I completely disoriented as to where to begin looking for help on the resoration/repair of my clock. Thanks

      • We aren’t sure if we’d be able to help you. Can you tell us exactly what’s wrong with the clock? What’s it doing? Has it ever worked? Has it worked since you’ve owned it?

        Would you be able to describe what’s wrong with it and/or send photos?

        The Victorian Head piece is just the crown on the top of the clock and many of the pieces for clocks like this one are still available from clock supply places like Merritt’s or TimeSavers.

    Leave a comment